What else could a nerd want?

It’s 2012… So What?

So what?! How dare I! 2012 should, actually, be a great year. (If you ignore that whole end of the world thing). There are a few things that have me more excited than anything else. “But what could those be?”, you may be asking. So in true nerd fashion, I have a list of things I can’t wait for.

1. My wedding- OK, I know most of you could care less about this event. In fact, some may complain that it has nothing to do with fantasy. Think of it this way. I am an extreme nerd. My wife to be is both hot, and a nerd. To me this is a real life fantasy. (OK, that was pretty sappy. But it may earn me brownie points.).

2. The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey- What is there not to be excited about? Not only are we getting return appearances from many beloved cast members of Lord of the Rings, but we also get to see Martin Freeman as Bilbo. We can just say this movie will be a home run. Oh yeah, let’s not forget that Peter Jackson is, once again, taking the helm. The most exciting actor for me is Mr. Martin Freeman. We’ve seen him rise from a costar in “Ali G Indahouse” to everyone’s favorite second to last human in “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”. (Let’s not forget his roles in “Shaun of the Dead” and “Hot Fuzz”.). Most recently, I’ve enjoyed his portrayal of Dr. John Watson in the BBC series, Sherlock. (It’s in Netflix. You should watch it). He may have been a comedic actor for most of his career, but it will be a treat to see him in such an important role.

3. Game of Thrones: Season 2- What more needs to be said? HBO makes great shows and this has been a delight. The casting is perfect and the story is, obviously, fantastic. This series sticks to the books so well, it may be a better adaptation than the Starz series of Pillars of the Earth. (Loved that show too). Having read the series, I promise this season will be epic. (unless they royally screw the pooch). Prepare yourself for more Tyrion and Daenerys. Let’s just hope the ratings stay up so we can get the whole story. (Please don’t pull another Rome HBO)

4. Cubs World Series- OK, another non-fantasy excitement. Though it is just as unlikely as finding one ring to rule them all. Since the world is supposed to end on December 21st, it would only make sense for it to be the year the Cubs win the World Series.

If you are still reading this, thank you, and let me know what you’re most excited about for 2012. Maybe it’s on my list, or maybe it should have been. I can’t wait to hear what you can’t wait for.

J.R.

P.S. Sorry I haven’t posted in a while. It was a busy Holiday season. I can’t believe we are in month four of the blog. Thank you to all of my readers.

One response

  1. I’ll agree with numbers one and two for things I’m excited about. For me, I would also add My own wedding, The Dark Knight Rises, and getting a new nephew/niece. I think my list is more sentimental than yours though, lol

    January 11, 2012 at 12:45 am

Leave a Reply

