What else could a nerd want?

Best magic system

I have spent a lot of time reading some of the great fantasy novels of the past decade. I have been noticing, within these series, some innovative new magic systems. I want to hear your favorite system and why it is your favorite.
To get things started, I’ll share my favorite.
In the book series, Mistborn, the main magic is used by burning metals like a forge within one’s body. This allows the character to push or pull an ability. This was such an interesting power to learn about. Brandon Sanderson has a way of explaining the powers to make them seem plausible. For every metal that pushes, a counter metal pulls. The physics and geometry that you see while reading this book pulls you into the Mistborn world. You may wonder about metals, like lead and mercury, that can cause health problems. The author explains that too, by adding that those who do not have the ability could die by ingesting metals and even those with the power can become sick or die as well.
Share your favorite system and let’s start a discussion.

J.R.

4 responses

  1. I really like the systems in the Wheel of Time: Saidin, Saidar and the True Power. It’s a really deep system that manages to get more exciting with each book without feeling gimmicky. The idea of weaving spells is really cool and stuff like balefire is just crazy awesome! There’s a huge emotional side to using the Power as well: for example, we often hear about Rand struggling to contain and control it, and the nauseating effect that the Dark One’s corruption has on him. The Power permeates the whole world in a totally natural way; not only how nature works but also society and culture. It does everything right. Definitely the best magic system I’ve ever come across in a book!

    December 2, 2011 at 12:25 am

    • I definitely understand where you are coming from on that one. I guess Mistborn is a bit gimmicky, but I just love the physics behind all of the actions. I must agree that WoT magic does get increasingly exciting with every book. I can’t wait to read the ending of that series. Thanks for your addition to the discussion.

      December 2, 2011 at 1:41 am

      • No prob 🙂 I didn’t mean to say that Mistborn’s magic is gimmicky; I actually think it’s really good! I’m finding it hard to think of a really gimmicky system off the top of my head… Probably some of Terry Brooks stuff. I’ve never liked Terry Brooks 😛 The physicality of Mistborn is really cool and the jumping and movement in the fight scenes are a lot of fun. I still have to read book 3 and I expect there will be plenty more revelations in that.

        December 3, 2011 at 11:13 am

  2. I like this post, enjoyed this one thanks for putting up.

    December 25, 2011 at 7:33 am

Leave a Reply

