What else could a nerd want?

Samwell Tarly and Samwise Gamgee?

Sometimes I wonder what books an author uses for their inspiration.  I’m using quite a few on the novel I am working on.  In “A song of Ice and Fire” I couldn’t help but notice a fun, chubby, craven character named Samwell Tarly.  As I read his description and the story that he goes through in the first four books I began thinking of another Sam from a great epic novel.  That is right, I speak of no other than Samwise Gamgee, or Samwise Gardner.  Sam was also a fat, little, scared character who won our hearts.  When I pictured Samwell, I even pictured Samwise.

These small similarities may not be enough to have a definitive decision, but it is enough for a homage to Tolkien by a writer who wants to try to “change the genre”.  And I can’t take that away from him.  The story telling style of George R.R. Martin, which randomly follows the most characters that I have ever seen, truly has changed it.  The way he tells a story makes you feel for each of the characters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If this was truly done on purpose by Mr. Martin, it could be great news for the fans of the R+L=J conspiracy.  In Lord of the Rings, Samwise is the plucky sidekick of the book’s biggest hero. (Frodo)  With that in mind, it could be safe to say that the best friend who Samwell shows unconditional loyalty to could also be the “hero” when all is said and done.  Does this mean John Snow really is the blood of the dragon?  Maybe he’ll be riding one with Dany by the end of the series.

Maybe HBO should have tried to have Sean Astin reprise one of his greatest roles.(Give me a break, he was Mikey and Rudy afterall)  You can also look at the author’s name.  Is there something to this R.R. middle name?  Maybe it’s time for me to change my middle name to further my writing career.

J.R.(R.?)

Leave a Reply

